You are here : Home > CBM lab > Team Biology of Metals

Team Biology of Metals

Published on 25 January 2018



Team leader

 
Isabelle Michaud-Soret
Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
CEA-Grenoble
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble cedex 09
Phone: (33) 4 38 78 99 40

Secretary:
Phone: (33) 4 38 78 40 95
Fax: (33) 4 38 78 54 87

Team members

Permanent scientists:
Mohamed Benharouga (Associate professor UGA)
Alexandre Bouron (CNRS researcher)
Patrice Catty (CEA researcher, LCBM Assistant Director)
Peggy Charbonnier (CEA technician)
Mireille Chevallet (CEA engineer)
Martine Cuillel (Inserm researcher)
Aurélien Deniaud (Associate professor UGA)
Laurence Macari (CNRS technician)
Isabelle Michaud-Soret (CNRS researcher, team leader)
Élisabeth Mintz (CEA researcher, gestion LCBM)
Roger Miras (CEA technician)
Julien Pérard (CNRS engineer)

Temporary scientists:
Julia Achard (Master I)
Aynur Ahamadova (post-doctoral fellow may 2013 -)
Mathilde Aubry (Master I)
Marina Bert (Master II)
Sylvain Chauvet (post-doctoral fellow)
Thomas Gallon (engineer april 2014 -)
Amal Kouadri (PhD student oct 2014-)
Chloé Leprêtre (L3 Pro)
Mohamed Ould Abeih (post-doctoral fellow april 2013 -)
Emeline Saudron (co-directed thesis with PCV)
Sophie Terrone (Master I)
Khémary Um (technician february 2014 -)
Giulia Véronesi (researcher avril 2014-)
Isabelle Worms (post-doctoral fellow)



Picture legend, from left to right:
back: Mohamed Ould Abeih, Julien Pérard, Laurence Macari, Mireille Chevallet, Sophie Terrone, Elisabeth Mintz, Roger Miras, Peggy Charbonnier, Mohamed Benharouga, Isabelle Michaud-Soret, Patrice Catty, Mathilde Aubry,
front: Marina Bert, Khémary Um, Aynur Ahmadova, Chloé Leprêtre, Martine Cuillel, Julia Achard,
insert: Alexandre Bouron, Aurélien Deniaud, Giulia Véronesi, Isabelle Worms, Thomas Gallon, Sylvain Chauvet, Amal Kouadri.

Former temporary scientists (2011-2013)
Addis Abébé: M2 2013
Geoffrey Bailleul : professional license course 1st semester 2011
Aurélie Biurrarena: M1 2011
Sylvain Chauvet: Thesis 2012
Cheickna Cissé: Thesis 2012
Flora Clément: M1 2012
Mariam El Khatib: M1 and M2 2012-2013
Caroline Fauquant-Pecqueur: researcher march 2011 - septembre 2012
Sandra Galop: Thesis 2012
Julien Gibon: Thesis 2011
Amélie Harel: professional license course 1st semestre 2012 then technician
Elaine Hilario de Souza: Thesis (Brazil may 2012 - march 2013)
Louis Jarvis: stage USA 2013
Anzéliha Kurt: M1 2013
Bénédicte Lafumat: M1 2012
Clément Levin: M1 2011
Sophie Mathieu: postdoctoral fellow 2011 - march 2013
Anne-Noëlle Petit: postdoctoral fellow july 2010 - decembre 2010
Camille Sageot: engineer course 2013
Wael Traboulsi: M1 2012


Presentation

The "Biology of Metals" or BioMet team focuses on the molecular and cellular mechanisms responsible for intracellular traffic, storage and regulation of various metal ions; the group studies the homeostasis of some essential metals such as copper, iron and zinc in prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells.

Our work is devoted to the study of detoxification and homeostasis of cadmium, calcium, copper, iron, zinc, cobalt and nickel metal ions in the cell. While cadmium is purely toxic, other elements are essential to cellular functions. However essential metal may, in case of deficiency or excess, compromise cell survival. Metallic cations are bound to a set of biomolecules that control their detection, transport, bioavailability and, possibly, their intracellular storage. The cellular homeostasis of these metals is finely regulated at the level of gene expression and protein synthesis.



The BioMet team studies several proteins which bind metallic cations and transfer them (i.e. exchange the metallic cations) to specific metalloproteins, some of them are able to interact with DNA or RNA to control gene expression or protein synthesis.

Within this framework, we focus on several membrane proteins whose function is to transport copper ions for one, chloride ions for another, and whose dysfunctionings are responsible for serious diseases in humans, such as Wilson's disease and cystic fibrosis. Our work focuses also on other membrane proteins responsible for transporting metals (TRP channels as TPRC6 and TRPM7 and P-type ATPases). Another concern of ours is the regulation of metal homeostasis by bacterial transcriptional regulators and eukaryotic translational regulators involved in the homeostatic control of iron and nickel. Studies of these regulatory systems, especially in stress conditions (metallic, oxidative or, for example associated with exposure to nanoparticles or other chemical molecules) is of particular interest to understand the metabolic disturbances caused.

Our research topics concern mainly fundamental research to better understand the mechanisms that regulate the intracellular concentration of the mentioned metals and the intracellular localization of membrane transporters. This is essential to understanding at the cellular and molecular level various pathologies related to dysregulation of metal homeostasis. Our work can also serve to identify new targets to fight the virulence of pathogenic bacteria. However, some research topics concern more finalized aspects as the search for antibacterial agents targeting the main regulator of iron homeostasis, the study of chelators for the removal of copper accumulation in the liver, the effect of an antidepressant on the brain zinc homeostasis or the toxicology of metallic nanoparticles.

Our axes of research aim to understand:

• the mechanism of heavy metal transport (Cd2+, Co2+, Cu+) through P1-ATPases and other efflux pumps
• the Cu+ delivery to the secretory pathway and the elimination of the excesses of Cu+ with the help of specific intracellular chelators
• the intracellular trafficking of transmembrane carriers - addressing, localization changes, degradation (human genetic diseases : Wilson's disease and cystic fibrosis)
l• the mechanisms of cross-regulatory network of Fur and NikR proteins, bacterial transcriptional metalloregulators and their involvement in the virulence of pathogenic bacteria (search of anti-Fur inhibitors with antibacterial aim)
• the transmembrane transport and storage of zinc ions in neurons, especially the involvement of cation channels such as TRPC6 channels in the transport of zinc
• the disruption of iron homeostasis and metal homeostasis and consequences in eukaryotes
• the interferences between metallic nanoparticles and metal homeostasis (LCBM transversal project involving several groups).


Keywords


Metal - cells - homeostasis - detoxification - membranes - transporters - intracellular traffic - degradation - proteins - binding sites - metalloregulator - bioinorganic - regulation of expression - coordination - ionic selectivity - Wilson's disease - cystic fibrosis - TRP channels.

Techniques

Molecular biology - site directed mutagenesis - heterologous expression in various systems (bacteria, yeast, insect and mammal cells) - primary or not cell cultures - purification of proteins - biochemistry - protein chemistry - light scattering - labelling - absorption spectroscopies, fluorescence, circular dichroism - enzymology - metabolic radiolabelling (pulse chase) - cellular imagery - electrophysiology.

Collaborations

- local: CEA-iRTSV, CEA-INAC, CEA-IBS, ESRF, EFS, CHU-DBI, CHU-Pneumology, IAB, GIN, UJF-DCM, UJF-DPM

- national: ENS (Lyon), INSERM-UMR-S 757 (Orsay), CNRS UMR 7178 (Strasbourg), Institut du thorax (Nantes), CEA-iBiTec-S (Saclay), CEA-iBEB (Cadarache), CEA-iRCM (Fontenay)

- international: 15 in Europe (5 Deutschland, 2 Greece, 1 Italy, 1 Norway, 2 Portugal, 2 Switzerland, 2 United-Kingdom), 5 in America (1 Brazil, 2 Canada, 2 USA), 1 in Asia (Japan)

Vous êtes ici : Accueil > Labo CBM > Équipe Biologie des Métaux

Équipe Biologie des Métaux

Publié le 27 février 2017



Responsable

 
Isabelle Michaud-Soret
Laboratoire Chimie et Biologie des Métaux
équipe BioMet
CEA-Grenoble
17 avenue des Martyrs
38 054 Grenoble cedex 09
Tel. : (33) 4 38 78 99 40

Secrétariat :
Tel : (33) 4 38 78 40 95
Fax : (33) 4 38 78 54 87

Membres de l'équipe

Permanents :
Mohamed Benharouga (maître de conférence à l’UGA)
Alexandre Bouron (chercheur CNRS)
Patrice Catty (chercheur CEA, directeur adjoint du LCBM)
Peggy Charbonnier (technicienne supérieure CEA)
Mireille Chevallet (ingénieur CEA)
Martine Cuillel (chercheuse Inserm)
Aurélien Deniaud (maître de conférence à l’UGA)
Laurence Macari (technicienne supérieure CNRS)
Isabelle Michaud-Soret (chercheur CNRS, responsable d’équipe)
Élisabeth Mintz (chercheur CEA, gestion LCBM)
Roger Miras (technicien supérieur CEA)
Julien Pérard (ingénieur CNRS)

Non permanents :
Julia Achard (M1)
Aynur Ahamadova (post-doc mai 2013-)
Mathilde Aubry (M1)
Marina Bert (M2)
Sylvain Chauvet (CDD post-doc)
Thomas Gallon (CDD ingénieur avril 2014-)
Amal Kouadri (thèse oct 2014-)
Chloé Leprêtre (L3 Pro)
Mohamed Ould Abeih (post-doc avril 2013-)
Emeline Saudron (thèse co-dirigée PCV)
Sophie Terrone (M1)
Khémary Um (CDD technicienne février 2014-)
Giulia Véronesi (CDD chercheurs avril 2014-)
Isabelle Worms (CDD post-doc)



De gauche à droite :
debout : Mohamed Ould Abeih, Julien Pérard, Laurence Macari, Mireille Chevallet, Sophie Terrone, Elisabeth Mintz, Roger Miras, Peggy Charbonnier, Mohamed Benharouga, Isabelle Michaud-Soret, Patrice Catty, Mathilde Aubry,
accroupis : Marina Bert, Khémary Um, Aynur Ahmadova, Chloé Leprêtre, Martine Cuillel, Julia Achard,
Médaillon : Alexandre Bouron, Aurélien Deniaud, Giulia Véronesi, Isabelle Worms, Thomas Gallon, Sylvain Chauvet, Amal Kouadri.

Personnels non permanents antérieurs (2011-2013)
Addis Abébé : M2 2013
Geoffrey Bailleul : licence-pro 1er semestre 2011
Aurélie Biurrarena : M1 2011
Sylvain Chauvet : Thèse soutenance décembre 2012
Cheickna Cissé : Thèse soutenance 19 janvier 2012
Flora Clément : M1 2012
Mariam El Khatib : M1 et M2 2012-2013
Caroline Fauquant-Pecqueur : CDD chercheur mars 2011-septembre 2012
Sandra Galop : Thèse 2012
Julien Gibon : Thèse soutenance septembre 2011
Amélie Harel : licence-pro 1er semestre 2012 puis CDD technicienne
Elaine Hilario de Souza : Thèse Brésil mai 2012- mars 2013
Louis Jarvis : stage USA 2013
Anzéliha Kurt : M1 2013
Bénédicte Lafumat: M1 2012
Clément Levin : M1 2011
Sophie Mathieu : post-doc mars 2011-mars2013
Anne-Noëlle Petit : post-doc juillet 2010-decembre2010
Camille Sageot : stage ingénieur 2013
Wael Traboulsi : M1 2012


Présentation

L'équipe “Biologie des Métaux (BioMet)” s'intéresse aux mécanismes moléculaires et cellulaires procaryotes et eucaryotes responsables du trafic, du stockage et de la régulation de certains métaux (dont le cuivre, le fer et le zinc), c'est-à-dire à l'homéostasie de ces métaux.

Notre équipe se consacre à l'étude de la détoxication et de l'homéostasie des métaux suivants : le cadmium, le calcium, le cuivre, le fer, le zinc, le cobalt et le nickel. Alors que le cadmium est purement toxique, les autres éléments sont essentiels aux fonctions du Vivant mais peuvent, notamment en cas de carence ou d'excès, compromettre la survie cellulaire. Les cations sont pris en charge par un ensemble de biomolécules contrôlant leur détection, leur transport, leur biodisponibilité et, éventuellement, leur stockage intracellulaire. L'homéostasie cellulaire de ces métaux est donc finement régulée au niveau de l'expression des gènes et de la synthèse protéique.



L'équipe BioMet étudie plusieurs protéines qui lient les cations métalliques et les transfèrent vers le/du/ou à travers le cytosol ou délivrent ces éléments à des métalloprotéines données dont certaines interagissent avec l'ADN ou l'ARN pour réguler l'expression des gènes ou la synthèse protéique.

Dans ce cadre, nous nous intéressons à plusieurs protéines membranaires dont la fonction est de transporter des ions cuivreux pour l'une, l'ion chlorure pour l'autre, et dont le dysfonctionnement est responsable de maladies graves chez l'homme, la maladie de Wilson et la mucoviscidose. Notre intérêt se porte aussi sur d'autres protéines membranaires responsables du transport de métaux (canaux de type TRP comme TPRC6 et TRPM7, ATPase de type P). De plus une partie de nos thématiques concerne la régulation et la détection des homéostasies métalliques par des régulateurs transcriptionnels bactériens et traductionnels eucaryotes impliqués dans le contrôle de l'homéostasie du fer et du nickel. Étudier ces systèmes de régulation, en particulier dans des situations de stress (métalliques, oxydants ou par exemple associés à l'exposition à des nanoparticules ou autres molécules chimiques) nous intéresse tout particulièrement afin de comprendre les perturbations métaboliques engendrées comme par exemple les maladies neurodégénératives.

Nos sujets de recherche sont essentiellement fondamentaux puisqu'il s'agit de mieux comprendre les mécanismes qui régulent la concentration intracellulaire des métaux cités et la localisation intracellulaire de transporteurs membranaires. Les résultats de nos travaux sont essentiels à la compréhension cellulaire et moléculaire de pathologies associées à des dysfonctionnements de l'homéostasie des métaux. Ils peuvent également servir à identifier de nouvelles cibles visant à combattre la virulence de bactéries pathogènes. Cependant, certains sujets de recherche concernent des aspects plus finalisés comme la recherche d'antibactériens ciblant un régulateur de l'homéostasie du fer ou l'étude de chélateurs permettant l'élimination de l'accumulation de cuivre, l'effet d'un médicament antidépresseur sur l'homéostasie cérébrale du zinc ou des études de nanotoxicologie.


Nos axes de recherche visent à comprendre :

• le mécanisme du transport de métaux lourds
(Cd2+, Co2+, Cu+) par les ATPases-P1 et des pompes d'efflux
• le convoyage du Cu+ vers la voie sécrétoire et l'élimination du Cu+ en excès à l'aide de chélateurs spécifiques
• le trafic intracellulaire de transporteurs membranaires - adressage, changement de localisation, dégradation (maladies génétiques humaines Wilson et mucoviscidose)
• les mécanismes des régulations croisées des protéines Fur et NikR, métallorégulateurs transcriptionnels bactériens, et leur implication dans la virulence de bactéries pathogènes (recherche d'inhibiteurs antiFUR à visée antibactérienne)
• le transport transmembranaire et le stockage du zinc dans les neurones, notamment les canaux cationiques TRPC6
• les perturbations de l'homéostasie du fer et leurs conséquences chez les eucaryotes
• les interférences entre les nanoparticules métalliques et l'homéostasie des métaux (projet transversal du LCBM impliquant plusieurs équipes).

Mots clés

Métaux - cellules - homéostasie - détoxication - membranes - transporteurs - trafic intracellulaire - dégradation - protéines - diffusion de lumière - sites de fixation - métallorégulateur - bioinorganique - régulation de l'expression - coordination - sélectivité ionique - maladie de Wilson - mucoviscidose -canaux TRP.


Techniques

Biologie moléculaire - mutagenèse dirigée - expression hétérologue dans divers systèmes (bactéries, levures, cellules d'insectes et de mammifères) - culture cellulaire primaires ou non ​- purification de protéines - biochimie - chimie des protéines - marquage - spectroscopies d'absorption, fluorescence, dichroïsme circulaire - enzymologie - radio-marquage métabolique (pulse chase) - imagerie cellulaire - électrophysiologie.

Collaborations

- locales : notre institut, CEA-INAC, CEA-IBS, ESRF, EFS, CHU-DBI, CHU-Pneumologie, IAB, GIN, UJF-DCM, UJF-DPM

- nationales : ENS (Lyon), INSERM-UMR-S 757 (Orsay), CNRS UMR 7178 (Strasbourg), Institut du thorax (Nantes), CEA-iBiTec-S (Saclay), CEA-iBEB (Cadarache), CEA-iRCM (Fontenay)

- internationales : 15 en Europe (5 Allemagne, 2 Grèce, 1 Italie, 1 Norvège, 2 Portugal, 2 Suisse, 2 Royaume-Unis), 5 en Amérique (1 Brésil, 2 Canada, 2 USA), 1 en Asie (Japon)